Newspaper Archive of
Pahrump Mirror
Pahrump, Nevada
February 27, 1997     Pahrump Mirror
PAGE 24     (24 of 36 available)        PREVIOUS     NEXT      Full Size Image
PAGE 24     (24 of 36 available)        PREVIOUS     NEXT      Full Size Image
February 27, 1997

Newspaper Archive of Pahrump Mirror produced by SmallTownPapers, Inc.
Website © 2022. All content copyrighted. Copyright Information.     Terms Of Use.     Request Content Removal.

20 Thursday, February 27, 1997 Pahrump Valley Gazette Mt. Charleston Honor Roll All A's, first semester: Third Grade: Amanda Albin Alexander Bietar Heather Couture Kiela Cox Valerie Farrar Thomas Harvey Coleton Irwin Heather Karpenko Kellilynn Mackenzie Jessica Marshall Makinna Meeks Stephanie Murphy Stven Poertner Jessica Ruell Ashley Salmon Nathaniel Stalcup Ian Hoffman Robbie Kampen Jessica Leavitt Garrett Leo Matthew Ligouri Leslie Mainus Alexander McGhan Victoria Oden Faith Richards Adrian Ringo Jose Rivera Ashton Shook Ciarra Smith-Rader Kendell Stelmaszczyk Dana Suggs Jason Sylva Michael Winans Breanna Yager Elijah Zeleznik Jestina Troung Fourth Grade: Coady Turpin Arely Villa Marie Abney Melissa Williams Sarah Bahret William Bertz Shauna Bradbury Fourth Grade: Michelile Carlson Sara Bentz Joseph Cornejo Juan Chavez Stephanie Crow Charlotte Crist Ryanne Dudenski Ashley Dodge Brittany Ellefson Nicholas Gonzalez Samuel Gustafson Kaya Gray Ryan Holz Emile Haliewicz Brittney Horsfail Stephanie Hess Mika Kasper Douglas Horn Crystal Kuras Rick Johnson Daniel Lanning Jeffrey Keating Caleb Madosik Christopher Kinney Barbara Manas Ryan Olson Peter Murphy Brittany Salmon Jonathan Petaros Jessica Uini David Poertner Leah Verzilli Jesse Radford Brian Scanlan Fifth Grade: Brandi Tarone Jeff App.i Kadee Wilkerson Jessiea Berlinger Brandon Bietar Fifth Grade: Raymundo Garcia Parminder Atwal Chirstopher Lauver Jessica Avena Amy Neth Courtney Lynn Beck Janyi Nogera Kayla Beesley Thomas O Donnell Amanda Cadigan Kalee Schneizer Danielle Cain Jeremy Setters Joshua Davis Jarrod York i April Dudenski All A's and B's, 1st seines. Crystal Hall ter: Jason James Third Grade: Jesse Johnson Ryan Allison Ian Krauss Andrew Brown Joseph Merritt Tara Brune Vanessa Mills Emily Crawford Shane Quigley Zachary Cummins Jeremy Renger Jennifer Dutcher Cherish Ruesch Alexander Franco Jessica Schuerger Brandon Graft Keli Ann Shilling Bailey Guilinger Rachel Smith Katherine Hamrick Rachel Tennefeld Ashley Walker Katie Ward Sheena C. Wilson All A's second semester: Third Grade: Amanda Albin Alexander Bietar Richard Campbell Heather Couture Kiela Cox Valerie Farrar Thomas Harvey Coleton Irwin Heather Karpenko Makinna Meeks Stephanie Murphy Steven Portner Jessica Ruell Ashley Salmon Nathaniel Stalcup Jason Sylva Justina Truong Coady Turpin Arely Villa Fourth Grade: Sara Benbo Sara Bentz Juan Chavez Ashley Dodge Kaya Gray Emily Haliewicz Stephanie Hess Douglas Horh Jeffrey Keating Christopher Kcating Christopher Kinney Ryan Olson Brittany Salmon Jessica Uini Leah Verzilli Fifth Grade: JeffAppel Jessica Avena Jessica Berlinger Brandon Bietar Danieile Cain Raymundo Garcia Christopher Lauver Amy Neth Janyl Nogera Thomas O'Donnell Jeremy Renger Kalee Schnelzer Jeremy Setters Jarrod York All A's and B's 2nd quar- ter: Third Grade: Tara Brune Zachary Cummins Jennifer Dutcher Amber Garcia Brandon Graft Bailey Guilinger Ian Hoffman Robbie Kampen Jessica Leavitt Garrett Leo Kellilynn Mackenzie Leslie Mainus Alexander McGhan Sarah Musselman Faith Richards Jose Rivera Ashton Shook Kendell Stelmaszezyk Melissa Williams Michael Winans Breanna Yager Fourth Grade: Marie Abney Sarah Bahret Jamsey Beaulieu William Bertz Shauna Bradbury Michelle Carlson Joseph Cornejo Charlotte Crist Stephanie Crow Ryanne Dudenski Brittany Ellefson Nicholas Gonzalez Samuel Gustafson Ryan Holz Brittany Horsfall Mika Kasper Crystal Kuras Daniel Lanning Caleb Madosik Barbara Manas Peter Murphy Jonathan Petaros David Poertner Anthony Provenza Jesse Radford Amanda Provenza Jesse Radford Amanda Roberts Brian Scanlan Brandi Tarone Kadee Wilkerson Fifth Grade: Parminder Atwal Courtney Lynn Beck Kayla Beesley Amanda Cadigan Joshua Davis April Dudenski Crystal Hall Chey Lynne Hollis Jason James Jesse Johnson Ian Krauss Andrew Miller Vanessa Mills Lasheinate Monroe Cherish Ruesch Jessica Schuerger Keli Ann Shilling Rachel Smith Rachel Tennefeld Katie Ward Sheena C. Wilson Nye Schools' Spelling Bee The 1997 Nye County District-Wide Spelling Bee was held Saturday February 8, 1997 at 10 a.m. in the Tonopah High School Auditorium. Students in grades six, seven and eight from throughout the district competed. Each of the students competing in the District Bee first competed with other students in their grade level within their school. The representatives received Certificates of Award and ribbons for their participation in the District-Wide Bee. The results of the Bee are as follows: Beth Gaydon, 6 Grade, 1st Place, Tonopah Middle School; Antonia Orozco, 6th Grade, 2nd Place (All.), Gabbs School; Jerusha Caligiuri, 7th Grade, I st Place, Beatty Middle School; Sarah Kulkin, 7th Grade 2nd Place (Alt.), Rosemary Clarke Middle School; Kevin Keating, 8th Grade, 1st Place,. Rosemary Clarke Middle School; Starla Melton, 8th Grade, 2nd Place (Alt.), Tonopah Middle School. The person placing first in each grade level has won the opportunity to compete in the Nevada State Spelling Bee sponsored by the Las Vegas Review Journal. The person placing second is eligible to attend the Nevada State Spelling Bee as a spectator and to compete if for some reason the first place is not able to compete. The Nevada State Bee will be held on March 22 in Las Vegas. The final words in compe- tition at the Nye County-Wide Bee were as follows: Sixth Grade - lumbago, Seventh Grade - sluice, and Eighth Grade - macaroni. All students did an out- standing job representing their schools. The audience recognized their efforts with several strong rounds of applause. Spelling Bee Officials who gave generously of their time: Cindy Kaminski, pronouncer; Judy Yates, Judge; Carl Johnson, Judge/Lighting Technician; Deena Daniels, Judge; Rick Dugan, Alternate Judge/ Lighting Techinician; Dave Reda, Alternate Judge/ Rule Reader. 4-H leaders return Emily Cadamagnani and Mary Smith of Tonopah returned home this week from Tucson, Arizona where they attended the annual Western Regional 4-H Leaders' Forum, January 9 to 12, 1997. They were two of 18 leaders from Nevada participating in the conference, designed to help volunteers enrich leadership skills to improve local 4-H programs. More than 600 leaders from 13 Western states, Canada, Guam, American Samoa and Micronesia attended. Workshops covered a variety of topics designed to further the effectiveness of 4-H in meeting the needs of youth in the '90s. One of the most productive parts of the conference according to Smith was the exchange of ideas and the testimonials with other leaders and their experiences what they gained personally and what they were able to return to the community as 4-H Leaders. At the Forum Cadamagnani was awarded the Teen Pinnacle Award, given for her outstanding leadership and citizenship abilities within her community, county and state. Thank you to The Station House for providing playing cards as souvenirs to share at the conference. Appreciatidn was expressed that the cards read 'q'onopah, Nevada." Learn more about opportunities for youth and adult involvement in the 4-H program by contacting your local Extension office in Tonopah at 482-6794 and in Pahrump at 727-5532. ADOPT A PET TODAY. 727.5583 Pahrump Valley Gazette (702) 727-5583 VAuuE i)e00tau 6,ouP GYROS $3.29 KIDS MEAL $1.99 Phone Orders Welcome 727-4300 Hours 10 am Io 7 pm Hwy 160 Valley View Plaza SAME DAY SERVICE Denture Reline and Repoir 1420 E. State Highway 372 hrump. l,,IV, 89041 727-6615